Those brave men

indigenes1.jpg

I just watched Indigenes, a French/Algerian/Moroccan film about North African soldiers who fought for their former rulers France in World War II and the accompanying disillusionment of fighting for a ‘motherland’ that is not theirs.

But the movie also made me think of days when life was not comfortable and there were no choices. Most of these soldiers from the colonies, including thousands of Indians who fought for the British HAD to join the army, as there were not many jobs available.

Their lives could come to an end any moment, and its frightening to even think of such an existence. It’s easy to recline on my sofa, type on my laptop and call them brave. I don’t even know what being brave is. I would never volunteer to join an army if I could. I don’t want to risk my life. But I have an option because I have opportunities. I should never take these opportunities for granted.

Leave a Reply

